A New Option Emerges

I got another call today about an open position I could potentially be considered for. I am maybe more excited about this opportunity than the one that popped up last week. This position is a clinical contract position that depending on your point of view can be good or bad.

I choose to see it as good. I have heard mix reviews about contract positions, one aspect I like the idea of is making my own hours. I dont always thrive in a traditional 9-5 environment. I like flexibility and options, this would offer that.

One possible down side is in the area of benefits. In terms of healthcare that is not a concern as I am insured through my husband. Lack of benefits in terms of vacation I am also not too concerned about; I am thankfully in a position where taking unpaid leave would not hurt our financial situation much. Lack of benefits regarding maternity leave is somewhat troubling but that is still a little ways off so I don’t know that it would be a deal breaker especially if this is the kind of job I am looking for out of college.

I had hopes of getting hired on with an agency in a clinical capacity where I would be providing traditional therapeutic services. If I am going to be paying to get myself trained on certain models and techniques I would like to have an environment to work on these skills in. Although, truth be told I had somewhat resigned to that fact that I would very likely be doing casework straight out of college because the field is competitive and I do not have much of an edge over licensed social workers when it comes to these open clinical positions.

Clearly I have a chance though because that is the second call in a week for an interview for a therapeutic position. I still don’t have a real clear sense of direction in terms of the immediate future of my career (outside of the trainings I want to sign myself up for) I am excited to have options. This is not a bad place to find myself in.

 

2 thoughts on “A New Option Emerges

Leave a Reply

