Resurfacing

Today I did a three hour session with my therapist. I am wooped. Tuesday I go back for another two hours. I might be able to squeeze in a little processing between now and then but tonight I am fulfilling my need to write by doing a bit of surface level writing. A blogger I really enjoy Quixie’s Mind Palace (she is a fellow INFP) posted this a while back and although I do not have the energy to make mine as visually stimulating as she did with hers, I thought I would give it a try.

1. Who are you named after?

I named myself. When I got married my wedding gift to myself was my first name. So when I went to change my last name I took a few extra steps and changed my first along with it. I talk on my blog about the importance of belonging to myself first, this decision was part of that commitment. My husband gave me his last name, my parents gave my middle name, but I gave myself my first name because I belong to me FIRST.

2. Do you like your handwriting?

I mean, I guess. I have the kind of writing that is some kind of hybrid between print and cursive because I am typically writing too fast to separate things and they start running together. It gets the job done though.

3. What is your favorite lunch meat?

I rarely do lunch meat. My version of a deli sandwich is closer to a falafel pita most of the time. I do occasionally like a cuban though I’m not gonna lie.

4. Longest relationship?

Hubs and I have been together going on 6 years. Before that I had a three year relationship shelf life, always made it to three years but never made it past three years.

5. Do you still have your tonsils?

No. I had strep throat way too many times growing up. That was not a fun surgery to recover from either.

6. Would you bungee jump?

I am not a risk taker on that level so that would be a huge HELL NO for me thanks.

7. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off?

I don’t. I rarely wear sneakers but I surely do not bother with laces when I do wear them.

8. Favorite ice cream?

All of the above! Bubble gum, salted caramel, coffee, chocolate anything! In truth I rarely get real ice cream though, that is special occasions only like vacations at the beach. Hubs and I make a nondairy “ice cream” from blended frozen bananas and coco powder which is a satisfying substitute; especially when you add strawberry and peanuts as a topping.

9. What is the first thing you notice about people?

Whatever stands out. If their hair is unique, or if they are wearing a flashy outfit, or if there is a significant height difference between myself and the person. I am a pretty visual person so it is usually just whatever catches my eye first. In terms of things like race, gender, etc. Not gonna lie I notice gender first every time.

10. Football or baseball?

Definitely baseball. I think volley ball is one of my true favorites though.

11. What color pants are you wearing?

Gray. Shocker.

12. Last thing you ate?

Kiwi and grape fruit. Yum.

13. If you were a crayon what color would you be?

Some of my favorite paint colors are pale turquoise, indigo, gray, vermilion, and chartreuse. So maybe one of those.

14. Favorite smell?

Orange blossom hands down. My childhood lives in the smell of citrus blossoms. I also love coffee beans, lavender, jasmine, gardenia, lemon, white fir, and cool water for women (never got sick of that one).

15. Who was the last person you spoke to on the phone?

Hubs when I was coming home from therapy.

16. Hair color?

Dark blonde kind of ashy with a few grays sprouting up.

17. Eye color?

Very light icy blue.

18. Favorite foods to eat?

Vegetables and rice. I eat a lot of egg plant, tomatoes, sweet potatoes, asparagus.. I also love fruit like pears, kiwi, cherries. Dark chocolate is my guilty pleasure.

 

19. Scary movies or happy endings?

Happy endings for sure. I have a low tolerance for violence and do not like to be scared. Some of my favorite movies are The Sound of Music, BFG, Practical Magic, You’ve Got Mail, Wizard of Oz.. You get the idea.

20. Last movie you watched?

Goodnight and Good Luck. It was about the McCarthy’s witch hunts during the Cold War in America.

21. Favorite holiday?

That’s so hard. A Tie between 4th of July and Halloween I think. I love Thanksgiving and Christmas as well but there is a level of pressure associated with those two that I don’t love. I really don’t like New Years and Valentine’s Day for that same reason.

22. Beer or wine?

Neither. haven’t had a drink in over a year. Red wine or dark beer (porter or stout) though for the record.

23. Night owl or early bird?

Night owl for sure. I am a beast in the morning and I am not a fan of getting up early.

24. Favorite day of the week?

Sunday I think, unless a season of Project Runway is on then it is Thursday. Sunday is a day I reclaimed after years of hating Sundays. Sunday is now family day and self-care day. It our best day.

2 thoughts on “Resurfacing

  1. It’s so nice to meet a fellow INFP! We are a rare bunch in my experience. I find it fascinating that you changed your first name, and am in love with the reason behind it. I’ve always felt that my birth name didn’t exactly fit me and wanted for years to change it. I considered the difficulty it would be for those around me though, so never went through with it. I also have similar handwriting, alternating between print and cursive. I find that it changes depending on my mood that day, too – which is interesting considering all of the psychology behind handwriting! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was the same way about my name, never felt fully connected to it. On the whole everyone in my life has been supportive and on board with the change, my closest friends now call me by MY given name. Plus everyone new I meet only knows me as MY name. I had never met anyone that did this before and then a year after I did it I met another INFP who did the same thing! Side note, I agree that we INFPs are a rare breed. I only know 2 in my everyday life.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

