The Unfinished Thickety

Yesterday did not goes as planned. Such is life. That is why I don’t like to spend too much time making plans when I can help it. I recognize I ultimately have limited control of things and why spend the present planning for a future I have no real say in? Don’t get me wrong, I make plans. I try not to spend a lot of time on small plans though and I do my best to remain flexible as a way to manage my expectations.

So, yesterday the beach did not happen. The weather was overcast with a forecast for rain and I wanted sunshine so we quite literally decided to rain check.

As an alternative we spent the day on projects. It was not as relaxing or revitalizing as the beach but it was still good.

Hubs and I got up in the morning and went to the local hardware store. He picked up the tools needed for his project, I day dreamed in the wood flooring section. He asked a man about roofing tar, I picked out the perfect paint color for a future nursery.

After the hardware store hubs took me to the art supply store. I have been painting something in my head for over a week but none of the canvas I currently have are big enough to hold it so I needed a size upgrade. Lucky for me the canvas were not only marked down, there was a special promotion where when you buy the canvas you get a free paint brush set. Now I am not saying they were world class brushes but I am not one to look a gift horse in the mouth either.

Let’s pause for a moment. That is a weird ass saying. I need to know its origins.

Okay, for anyone else that was curious: I was unable to find the origin of the phrase but I was able to determine its meaning. It has to do with the fact that you can gauge a horse’s age by looking at the length of its teeth. When men would deal in horses they would check the teeth of the horse to insure they were getting a good deal and not being cheated with an old horse. The gift horse phrase is implying that when you are gifted a horse it would be rude to check its teeth (look it in the mouth) because regardless of its quality/age it was a gift.

Alright, enough of  that.

After the art store we stopped by the grocery and got our supply for the week and headed home.

I spent the rest of the day painting while hubs was on the roof patching a possible leak. By dinner time we were both finished and settled in for Zaalouk with kalamata olives and basmati rice.

Hubs was checking out my painting and made mention of something I already knew to be true, it looks unfinished.

Good catch.

I finished the landscape of the thickety and it all looks exactly as I envisioned. I cannot tell you how exciting that is. Before I start a new art project I am usually filled with some degree of self-doubt. I have a vision in my head of what I want the finished project to look like and my not-good-enoughs always ask, am I good-enough to bring my vision to life? Unfortunately I do not fully trust in the my own artistic abilities. This was one of those times I was able to restore my own faith though.

art

The painting is inspired by the series I am reading right now, The Thickety. It is a series about witches and woods magic. I am on the second book of the trilogy and it takes place in The Thickety which has been cursed with a sickness by the forest demon. All the flora and fauna are covered in a green sickly moss and navy bluish/black fungus. I got the flora part down and I am pleased but I chickened out when it came time to introduce the fauna to the piece. I am nervous about the scale and my own accuracy. I decided to stop here and come back when I feel ready. I know exactly what I want it to look like but again I just don’t feel confident yet. Maybe after graduation when I have a little down time I will spend some time on it. For now it is just the thickety.

 

 

Leave a Reply

