Gratitude Upon Gratitude Upon Gratitude

This morning I opened my email and soon after felt the familiar trickle of tears down my smile worn cheeks.

I mentioned that I am submitting a personal writing piece with the hopes of having it published in a magazine for women that I read. When I made this decision to step into this place of vulnerability I did so with the love and support of some of the women in my life. Before submitting this piece I knew I needed this support. I sent my writing to 5 friends whom I trust with my heart and asked for honest feedback.

These 5 friends were chosen quite deliberately. Aside from trusting them, I knew they would each bring a unique perspective. 2 of my friends have degrees related to literature and writing, all of my friends are well read, they all have a conscious mindset towards growth and self-love, they all fall in different places on the MBTI spectrum (ISTJ, INFJ, ENFJ, INTJ etc), and they are all creatively inclined in their own way. I have gotten meaningful, much appreciated, feedback thus far. For this alone I am grateful because I kind of sprung this on my friends last minute.

This morning I opened my email and found an email from one of these friends about my piece. I assumed it would be her feedback but it was so much more than that. This friend is a high school English teacher (almost all of my close girlfriends are either musical, social workers, teachers, or writers – I am clearly attracted to a certain kind of woman). The email she sent me was her student’s critiques of my work. I was so moved by this. She presented my piece to her creative writing class and asked them to critique and give me feedback as an assignment for class. Some of the feedback was so touching. I am not going to lie though, I was even touched by the student who only corrected a grammatical error. It was the fact that she allowed me to be part of her classroom in this way, she made something I created part of another person’s learning experience. And moreover, some of her students appeared impacted by my words.  This is what abundance feels like my friends. To make something that means something to you, that you have a deep personal connection to, and then find that it meant something to someone else as well.

At this point even if my submission is not accepted I am still so grateful. This has been a beautiful lesson in receiving.  Allowing myself to ask for support, that was almost as hard as making the decision to submit the writing in the first place. Then to allow myself to be open to the support I received in return, in all of it forms.. I am humbled. I am grateful. I feel infinite and loved in this moment. Thank you for that my friend. You touched my heart with this simple act.

Some of the feedback I received:

student feedbackstudent feedback1student feedback2

 

Leave a Reply

