Social Work Milestone

Today is a special day. I am going on my very first formal job interview for a social work position. Whether they choose to offer me the position or I choose to accept it is not what I am thinking about as much as the milestone itself.

I have been a social worker for 7 months, in 3 months I will have my MSW, and today I am interviewing for a social work job.

All of this seemed so far in the distance when I first started this journey and now here I am almost at the finish line. I am meeting all these goals that felt enormous when I first set them for myself. Soon I will begin to focus on new goals like becoming licensed, taking my exam, starting a family, moving into our forever home.

All of these new goals were someday goals for me for a long time and now they are quickly turning into today goals, or tomorrow goals, or in a few months goals. The point is things are changing.

This year will bring lots of change with it, of that I am sure. A piece of me questions if I am ready for all this change.. On an intuitive level I know I will be ready as each thing comes. And maybe some things we are never truly ready for, like parenthood, because there is only so much preparation one can do to prepare for a shift that large.. My heart is finally open to some of these big life goals in a way it was never able to be in that past.

The more I have allowed myself to walk through fear and come out the other side the smaller fear has become.

So I am not afraid of this interview today, and I am not afraid of graduation, I am not afraid of meeting the goals I set for myself, and I am not afraid of the goals I will set next. Not today at least.

 

Leave a Reply

