Watching Earth Far From Fruition

My soul friend has a way with words. A way that leaves me without them completely at times. This is one of my favorites. I have read it many times before and each time is the same, the last line.. it cripples me. I see it, I feel it, it is stunning and I hope it stirs something in you the way it always does me.

Everyday Poet

They return

Rain drizzles

After drought

A drought were you knew every dry part of soil like you know a friend

Thirst had taken hold of me

Yet

Disappointment, despair

The pangs that come from watching other relationships blossom

From desert vantage

Newmade friendships

And innocent handshakes

Are dew laden.

I was oft so wingless.

Friends I see your gardens growing.

I rejoice with each harvest.

Your embraces, your diamond declarations, your children.

A bounty.

Living in the richness,

You queens and kings of affection.

While I grew so weary with my lifeless dirt.

My ramshackle feast of imagination

Was all that I’d wheelbarrow home.

View original post

Leave a Reply

