All the Good Stuff

all-the-good-stuff

It’s been a good week. I am feeling better finally, was back at school, back at internship, was assigned my first client, and had some fun with friends and family this weekend.

School was good, I talked some about that in my last post/feminist rant. I returned to internship later in the week and was very glad to be back. I was assigned my first client and it has been an interesting couple of days navigating all that has been going on. I am really excited for the opportunity to work with this client and the family system. I am grateful for my intern supervisor’s confidence in me, I am really excited about everything that is happening at internship right now.

My intern supervisor and I were talking earlier in the week about the importance of balance. I wanted to work some extra days to make up for time lost while I was sick and she advised against it. She said that once I have a more steady case load I will end up spending more time at internship with documentation etc and she does not want me to burn out early by not maintaining a proper balance, of course she is right. I took her advice and did not take the extra shifts.

This morning I rolled over to my two babies cuddling each other fast asleep and I was thankful to be home with them and not somewhere else. Todd and I spent the day straightening up a bit and in the evening our friends came over with their dog and we watched college football.

The best part was the dogs, they were hilarious. Our friends have a chocolate lab that is about Lucy’s age and size, the dogs had never met before. The wrestled, they played tug, they ran in the back yard. By the end of the evening both dogs were covered in each other’s drool.

It was a normal week, nothing out of the ordinary, nothing over the top.. Yet here I sit with a full heart overflowing with gratitude. Sometimes I am still in awe that this is my life, I get to have all of this and more. There is so much love, so much joy, so much simple goodness. A life that was once fear, and shame, and insecurities is now packed with all the good stuff and I do not take that for granted.

It is going to be a good fall, followed by a good winter, and a good start to a great new year – I can just feel it.

I can just feel it.

Leave a Reply

