Flower Bombs and Make Up Brushes

flower bomb

I try to set time aside when I am on break between semesters to do some deep cleaning and organizing around the house. This way it gets done a few times a year for sure and I always feel like I am starting the new semester on the right foot with a clean house.

Today I attacked our master bath. I cleaned the areas that often get missed during our weekly cleaning of the bathroom, like the baseboards –  I am a little embarrassed to admit they may only get attention during these deep cleans between semesters and when we are expecting company. After cleaning the actual bathroom it was time to reorganize and purge. I threw out old hair products from when my hair was long (I have a side tangent about that), I threw out make up I don’t wear, lotions, body sprays, a lot of random travel sized shampoos that you swipe from the hotel and never end up using later..

I reworked how I store my make up and feminine products, decluttered the medicine cabinet, and organized all the drawers. Then all I was left with was my make up brushes which I planned on cleaning before I put away. Good thing too, they were gross! It was just blush and eye shadow but I have never cleaned them before -EVER – so a lot of make up came off those brushes. I got super grossed out thinking about how I have been brushing dead skin cells all over my face each time I use one. To anyone who wears make up, I recommend taking the 15 minutes to clean your brushes every so often. It is quick and painless and will probably help your brushes stay nice as well.

I had never done it because for some reason I got it in my head that it would be involved or complicated and more worth it to go out and buy new brushes. That was not the case at all. Here is what I did:

1 cup warm water, 1 tbs of white vinegar, and 1 tbs of dish soap all mixed together in a bowl.
Each brush gets splashed around in the bowl for a few seconds and then rinsed in cool water.
Lay flat to dry, do not place the brush upside down to dry.
Change water mixture after each brush so every brush has a clean rinse.
Done.

I found the tutorial on Pinterest, it was easy and now I do not have to buy new brushes.

Okay here is my tangent about the hair products I disposed of..

My routine is much simpler with the pixie, just wash, 2 minutes under the hair dryer (if I am in a rush otherwise 10 minutes of air drying), mess it up with a little wax and I am out the door. Other than what I use in the shower to wash my hair I only use 2 products now, a leave in conditioner and the wax. When I had long hair I used a root pump/lift mouse, a regular volumizing mouse, a sea salt spray for when I was going natural, a leave in conditioner, hairspray (different kinds depending on the style), 2 different kinds of curling products if I was going wavy/curly, a heat protector.. the list goes on. I have not used any of these products for the last few years but because they were such an investment I have waited to dispose of them. My thought being that if I decided to grow the pixie out not long after I cut it I could still use these products. Well clearly I didn’t do that so it was finally time to let go and clear up space.

Many of these bottles were still pretty full. I stock piled before the wedding because my girls and I were doing our own hair, I did not hire anyone, so I wanted to make sure we had everything we would need on the big day. So the first thing I had to do before disposing of the bottles was empty them. I chose to do this in the kitchen. I stood there for about 5 minutes pouring out sprays and lotions and shooting all the mouse out of the mouse containers. By the time I was done it was like a chemical flower bomb had gone off in my kitchen! I could barely breathe. Suddenly I was very aware of the fact that all these products we use to clean our hair, our dishes, our clothes, our homes, and even our bodies are all chocked full of chemicals and fragrances.

This probably makes me seem silly right? I am sure you are sitting there saying, Yeah dumby, are you just figuring this out?! The short answer is No. I mean of course I know all these products have chemicals in them, that is how they clean. I have never given conscious thought to any of it though. For example, after I emptied and disposed of all the bottles I started a load of laundry. I was suddenly hypersensitive to the “ocean fresh” smell of our laundry detergent. Then I put Lucy’s Oatmeal Coconut dog shampoo away and was thinking about the need for the coconut fragrance..

The bottom line (for me) is I do not need my clothes to smell like artificial ocean as long as they are clean. I do not need my dog to smell like a coconut as long as she is clean. I do not need my hair to smell like a million different flowers and berries as long as it is clean. There are enough chemicals in these products without adding to them for the vanity of a smell. If I want to wear perfume I can put some on but I don’t think it needs to be added to everything else I use. If I want my house to smell a certain way I will put on oils, as long as the floor is clean I do not need it to smell like a lemon.

I am not saying that I am going to stop using all these products that are chocked full of chemicals. I like to paint my nails, I use whatever is out there to dust with and clean the toilets.. I am not planning to make any major lifestyle changes here, maybe a few small ones though, like using unscented laundry detergent. And maybe I will think twice about the soap/shampoo I use as well as what we use on Lucy. I think I will be more mindful with products that will be touching my body.

Another perspective I had not even considered until now is the environmental impact, I am sure there is one. I am not as green as some. I recycle and do all the things we were taught by Captain Planet in the 90’s but I know I probably have a rather large carbon foot print and I could certainly be doing better in that respect as well.

So yeah, that is my two cents after getting gassed in my kitchen by a flower bomb.

This was a pretty random post I must say. I think it proves that I would make a terrible beauty/make up blogger in case I ever thought that was a possible career path. I think I will stick to social work and random observations.

Leave a Reply

