What’s Next

I am profoundly grateful to have a mentor on my social work journey. I have a few between my former intern supervisor and a few professors, and I am sure to accrue a few more while in my next internship. One stands out from the rest though because of the role he has played in my growth.

As I ease into the next phase of this journey I am thinking more and more about what comes next. In less than a year I will be an unemployed MSW, I will need a job! When I started undergrad I had a very clear vision of what I wanted to do with my degrees upon completion. Now as I reach the end of the academic part of my journey I realize I am not the same version of myself that I was when I started and as a result my vision for my future, immediate and long term is changing. As I become more myself and am figuring out what feels right to me within the realm of social work I am starting to wonder, where do I fit in?

I recognize that it is unlikely I am going to walk off the stage at graduation and land my ideal job, partly because I do not even know what that looks like right now and partly because I have to get there. Part of what may help me figure out what I want is by figuring out what I don’t and some of my jobs right out of school may fall into the don’t category, I have no way of knowing.

I have reached out to my mentor so we can talk some of this out. I would like to have some piece of mind so I will feel more open when I start applying for jobs in the near future.

I am grateful that I have someone to reach out to who is willing to sit in this with me and who I know will ask me the questions I am not able to ask myself about this right now. I am grateful for all of the mentors and guides and supporters and critics in my life. They all play an enormous role in my continued growth. I know I will land exactly where I am supposed to when I am supposed to get there and I am grateful for having that knowledge. I am grateful that knowing this to be true takes some of the anxiety away as I get closer to my next phase.

 

Leave a Reply

