Beauty is Everywhere

bob ross

The Joy of Painting is on Netflix. I remember my parents watching Bob Ross when I was a kid and I hated it. I thought it was sooo boring! And I can’t be certain but I think it got in the way of Saturday morning cartoons or something. My Dad used to watch This Old House on the weekend too and when I was a kid I thought he did it on purpose just to torture me.

I am really glad Bob Ross is on Netflix because I get a second chance now that I am old enough to appreciate why he is awesome. He is such a happy dude, it is so fun and peaceful watching him. I am totally pumped to paint again too. I haven’t painted since graduation, I am ready.

So I mentioned I started to read The Call of the Wild.. That did not work out. Chapter one was rough.There was a lot of neglect, abuse, and abandonment going on and you are inside the dog’s head hearing how he is processing all of this. It was way too much for me. I finally got through the first chapter, I thought I was out of the woods but then it got worse. There was a super graphic dog fight scene and that was it. I called it without getting more than a few pages into the chapter.

I can’t believe Todd read this book as a child. If I can’t tolerate the subject matter there is no way my sensitive childhood self would have been able to handle it.

Anyway, I was bummed because the writing is good and the story is interesting but I can’t handle the level of violence.

So last night I picked up Catcher in the Rye and read a chapter out of it but I don’t know if I am in the mood for Holden right now either. I think I might have to go back to the bookshelf and see what else I have.

Tomorrow is the interview with the agency for field placement. I am nervous not about the interview but about the agency. I deliberately pushed myself far outside my comfort zone with the hopes for major growth and learning opportunities. It is scary though to walk into something completely new and different. I keep telling myself I can do this and I need to just let it be whatever it is going to be. I knew when I made this decision that I was going to feel a real lack of control associated with being out of my comfort zone, I feel like I just need to lean into that uneasiness and let go.

I still can’t believe I am a grad student. At what point does that sink in? This is all happening fast. What a ride this life has turned out to be.

Leave a Reply

