He is my Moose

he is my moose

I read this post today on HONY and I had to read it to Todd immediately. There was so much about the post that reminded me of our relationship. My husband at times tells me bedtime stories to help with my inability to fall asleep and frequent nightmares. My favorite is Beatrix Potter’s Squirrel Nutkin, but we save that one for when I am sick.

Outside of realizing that I am not the only grown woman that asks her partner for bedtime stories I also identified with the story itself.

At our wedding my father gave a speech wherein he spoke about how I make Todd laugh and loosen him up, and Todd keeps me tethered to earth otherwise I might just float off. Todd is my moose, and I am his goose. In our relationship we always talk about how I am the ideas person and he is the execution. I am the dreamer while he takes a practical approach to life. When I was reading the story of the moose and the goose to Todd I teared up on the last line because it is just so true.

To steal a lyric from one of my favorite bands, “we’re all souls just trying to connect with someone but we’re all left searching on our own.” As Tall As Lions

“He didn’t even know she was out there.” How lucky are we few who have met our moose or our goose? The whole world is looking for connection and for some of us we have had some good fortune that one day while minding our own business a goose landed on our heads and changed our lives.

I can tell you right now this is a story I will remember and I will tell my children because it is beautiful and for me it feels so true.

I have to say Todd and I had a pretty great day. With me not having class and him not having work we got to have a quiet day. We walked Lucy, played games together, cooked together, danced in the kitchen to Eric Clapton and The Eagles. At the end of the day I was reading HONY as I mentioned and I also saw a status update on FB from a social work friend that was so cute I had to share it with Todd. It was like a survey that where she asked her husband to answer questions about her. The questions lend themselves to funny/cute responses. So Todd and I ended up doing the survey with each other which led to laughter and kisses, a great way to end the day.

Here were some of Todd’s responses for me:

What is something I always say to you?
– I love you

What makes me happy?
– Funny Dances

What makes me sad?
– Everything

What was I like as a child?
– Bossy

What’s my favorite thing to do?
– Art

What do I do when you are not around?
– Art

If I become famous, what will it be for?
– Solving the World’s Problems

What am I good at?
– Empathy

What am I not good at?
– Lying

How are you and I the same?
– Our Introversion

How do I annoy you?
– You’re messy

What is your favorite thing about me?
– We Always Have a Good Time

He is my moose and we do always have a good time.

Leave a Reply

