Two Years Later

Two years ago                                                  Yesterday

A lot can change in a minute. One minute you have long hair and the next it has been chopped off. A lot can change in an hour, you walk into your doctor’s office for a check up and walk out with a diagnosis. A lot can change in a day, you can wake up single and by sunset be someone’s spouse. A lot can change in a week, on Monday you rent a home and by Friday you are a home owner. A lot can change in a month, one month you are happily going about just you and your partner and the next you are puppy parents. A lot can change in a year, you can start with a plan and by year’s end realize it was never in your hands to decide anyway.
Change being so constant, imagine what can happen given two years.

Today was my last day of internship, yesterday was my day of classes as a BSW student. Next week I will officially be a social worker and one week after that I will be a grad student. I am grateful for the constant change in my life. I am grateful for the last two years. I am grateful for all those who have crossed my path, walked it with me, have given me darkness, and given me light.

I am grateful for this minute, hour, day, week, month, year. I am grateful for this breath and the knowledge that in the next everything could change.

diane

 

 

Leave a Reply

