Wrapping Up One Chapter to Start Another

aaa

Feels like April came early this year, I don’t know how else to explain it already being the end of the semester. The last few months have flown by while I have been in internship. Now I am here, just a few weeks before graduation and in the last two weeks of placement. Two years ago this felt so far away.

This has been such a memorable experience. I am really grateful for all the opportunities I have had to work and practice my skills outside of the program, this internship included. I have worked in communities, with schools, with multiple different agencies. It has all been amazing and collectively that has been my favorite part of this entire experience.

I am excited to start grad school, I am really looking forward to my next internship, but I am also feeling a bit sad to be finishing up with the agency I have been working with these last few months. I will miss my supervisor, the patients, the physicians, the fellows, and the staff. It was such a good experience, I fell right into place from the beginning and have felt part of the team the entire time. This was technically a generalist internship but there were absolutely clinical aspects and that gave me a taste of what comes next.

Suddenly one more year does not feel like such a long time. I think there is this false sense of security that comes with being in school, a feeling of shelter from the outside world. One day I will be a social worker and have to do all of these things that I have been practicing.. One day.. Well one day is closing in on me. That is not to say I am not looking forward to one day, I am with all of my being. This has all been a wonderful experience though, one that I have tried to embrace fully and take every advantage of, and soon I know this chapter will be closing in order for the next to open. My chapter as a BSW is quickly coming to an end so my chapter as an MSW student intern can begin. All this forward momentum is good and exciting but I am just trying to soak it all up. I don’t want to miss anything, I don’t want anything to be taken for granted.

So much has happened since starting this program two years ago. I know I am the not the same person I was two years ago, just as that girl knew she was different than the girl she was two years prior to that. I am really proud of my growth most of all I think. I feel so much less afraid than I did before. I think a big part of that is knowing that I am okay, that I am enough, and that this is where I am supposed to be. I feel so much more sure of things now, sure of myself.

It has been an amazing journey, one that started 4 years ago and is not quite complete. I am excited to see where this next chapter takes me and feel open to whatever comes my way.

 

Leave a Reply

