Summer Plans and Summer Reading

Wildwood_by_Colin_Meloy_cover

With one week left in the semester I decided yesterday that it was time to decide on my summer reading list. I will have a few new texts to get through but with only two classes this summer it will leave plenty of time for fun reading, so I hope at least. I returned my most recent supplemental text to my professor and took another on loan for the summer. This one covers diversity, oppression and change. I appreciate having a professor that is so willing to lend me books. The texts she shares with me are the texts they teach at Grad level and I find that they expand on the concepts we discuss in classes much more than any of our BSW texts do.

In terms of personal reading, I am in the last few chapters of Wild by Cheryl Strayed so Todd and I made a trip to the bookstore yesterday to get something new.

In truth I have a stack of books at home still waiting to be read but they are all nonfiction or at least realistic in nature. I want something whimsical and not of this world. I had considered A Wrinkle in Time because that is not one I never read in school and since it is written for a younger audience it is guaranteed to be imaginative as well as an easy read. When I got to the bookstore though my mind was quickly changed. While in the children’s section looking for A Wrinkle in Time I found Wildwood by Colin Meloy. It was the cover art by Carson Ellis that initially caught my eye. I flipped the book over, read the synopsis and was sold. It is exactly what I was looking for. I opened the book and read the few pages to make sure it was not too easy of a read and I was not disappointed. It will be a perfect escape this summer.

We planned to have an actual escape of sorts this summer but those plans have since been changed. Isaac’s little league team was scheduled to have a big game in the Tampa area in May so we were all going to make a weekend trip out of it. The league cancelled the trip do to poor weather the last few years when they have gone so we decided not to go either. Todd and I talked about the possibility of a weekend trip at a different beach but decided against it.

In August we will be in Chicago for the Foo Fighters concert and we talked about the possibility of a short trip in October to celebrate our anniversary. Not to mention we will be back in Chicago for Thanksgiving. With three trips potentially happening within a small span of time the want to travel this summer does not seem pressing. Instead we have discussed a list of options for day trips and other fun things to do locally to occupy our free time this summer. We will do a tour of a brewery in town as well as a vineyard/winery I once visited that was nice. We’ve also discussed taking Lucy to the dog beach a few times. Plus we will have our sleepovers with the kids and plenty of opportunities for fun date nights.

Our next door neighbor stopped us as we were coming home from a walk with Lucy last week in the evening, he needed to borrow some butter. As I started for the door to go get him some butter he asked us how married life was treating us, a question we have gotten a lot in the last six months. We told him what we tell everyone else, it’s the same. It was good before and nothing has changed. I am really thankful for that. It’s not that I think everything will always be as it is now.. There will be periods of change, of growth, of difficulty but I firmly believe it will always be good. No matter what we face there will always be good here.

The last 6 months have been every bit as good as the three years that preceded them and I am sure this summer and the next six months will follow that same trend of “good”. I am thankful for the time we have had and look forward to what is to come.

Leave a Reply

