5, 10, 30 year plan

todd

As per usual last night was date night. We had dinner at a restaurant in the local community market. After dinner we went into the market to check out the bookstore. This bookstore is my favorite in town. They have the best collection of books for children. They are socially responsible, teaching kids about diversity and empowering young girls etc, I fell in love with this store the first time we stepped in the door. The last time we were there was right after we got back from our honeymoon. I was excited to see the owner carried many of the same children’s books we saw while in D.C. and spoke to her about it for a while. I did not know this at the time but apparently I made an impression on the owner because now 5 months later when we entered the store last night she remembered me.

She and I spoke about the newest crop of children’s books she had in stock and the positive messages they conveyed. She also shared with me that when Todd and I visited last time and I told her that her stock held up against the awesome advocacy bookstore we visited while in D.C. that was one of the single most validating moments she has had since opening her store. I had no idea and I was so glad! We took a moment to formally introduce each other and she and Todd introduced themselves to each other as well so now we when visit we will be on a first name basis. I made some really great connections this week between school and Hospice but for me this one took the cake. To know that by just being honest and sharing my admiration for her store that I helped validate this amazing woman, it was the best moment of the whole week. I am so thankful we had a chance to connect again and on a deeper level this time.

Our reason for visiting the store last night is because the summer is quickly closing in on us and we are making plans for the sleepovers with the kids again. We had a great time with both of the sleepovers we did with Maddie and Isaac last summer and the kids are buzzing with anticipation about this summer’s sleepovers. I wanted to see what books she had in that I could get for each sleep over this year and she has some that I know will be perfect. We have not made firm plans yet but it sounds like we are leaning towards taking Maddie to a farm/petting zoo for her sleepover and we are still considering what to do with Isaac, although I think it will involve the train again.

After visiting with the owner of the bookstore for a while we went across the street to the local pie shop (one of Todd’s favorite local spots) and shared some pie then we walked over to the local coffee shop/bar and had a few drinks. We were talking about our encounter with the bookstore owner and this led to a bigger conversation about our 5, 10 and 30 year plan. We talked about having kids and what we look forward to and how life will be different then. We talked about the things we want to do together before we start having kids and what short terms goals we have that we would like to accomplish first, plus fun stuff like traveling. We also talked about our retirement plan, this conversation was directly linked to running into the shop owner again.

One of my dream jobs has always been to run my own bookstore, specifically a children’s bookstore but I am flexible on that. I have always loved the idea of being a staple in a community and having story hour and tutoring and instilling a love of written word in younger generations. Todd knows about this dream of mine, what I did not know is that he shares it. Todd has talked before about the idea of teaching as a retirement job when he leaves his engineering firm one day. I have always encouraged this idea, he would be a phenomenal math or science teacher, he thorough and patient and understands that you have to use different methods with different people because not everyone learns the same way. He succeeded in teaching me math without wanting to rip out his hair or making me cry, that is quite a big deal believe it or not.

Last night after running into the shop owner I talked about how much I would love to do what she does one day and own my very own store and Todd agreed. He said he liked the idea of the story time and getting kids excited about reading and learning, he liked the idea of what a store like this could mean to kids in the community. My heart filled to the brim. It has always just been a dream and may remain one but to know that he not only supports it but would want to share this dream with me makes me love him so much.

I love that he and I are so on the same page about so many things. I feel like we are making the most of our honeymoon period because we both recognize once we do have children our lives will change and that it is important to have this time together. We agree that we are both looking forward to having kids together because we are so in sync in terms of parenting style. Then we both look forward to our future past children and what our lives will be like when it is just us again. I love that we have these talks, each time I feel closer to him and ever more sure that there is no other person I would rather being living out my dreams with than him.

Leave a Reply

