A busy year ahead

My parents came over with my sister-in-law and the kids last night for our weekly dinner at our house. My sister-in-law had been out of town with my niece and nephew at a family reunion for the past week so it was out first time seeing the kids since they had been back. It was so cute, my nephew leaped out of the car screaming “Aunt Bean!” and latched on to me wrapping his legs tightly around my stomach when I picked him up for a hug. If he had been much bigger he may have knocked me backwards. The cutest though is my niece and Todd. She is his shadow. Everything is Uncle Todd this and Uncle Todd that. The worst was when they were leaving. My nephew had a death grip on me begging me not to go because “I am going to miss you”. He never talks like that, it was so sweet. He finally relented when we promised we would send pictures of the animals at the zoo and bring him home something from Chicago. Too cute.

This morning while Todd was getting ready for work and I was laying in bed making a list in my head of what I need to get done today before we leave my phone went off. I thought that was weird being as though it was before 8am, who would be texting me? It was a former coworker from the MRI facility asking me to call her and stating that it was important. I knew what that meant before I picked up the phone to dial. She informed me that someone had given notice and that the Doctor wanted to see if I would like to come back. I spoke with the Doctor about 20 minutes later and it was settled. He is aware that I will be starting the program next summer so I am only available until then but that was fine for him. We talked for a while about what I want to do with the degree and he was excited to hear my plans. He was very complimentary of my skills and personality and said he thought what I was talking about would be a perfect fit for me.

Although at this point I no longer feel that I need validation about my decision I appreciate the kind words. My Psychology teacher who I looked up to while taking his class pulled me aside after the last class and said similar things about me being on the right path. He said that clearly I understand the subject matter and he enjoyed our discussions, as did I. Being back in school has been an amazing experience. Although the road has been tricky and of course not everything has worked out the way I would like I am glad I waited until I was older to go back. I know who I am and what I want to be to this world, neither of these things were true before. If I met the 23-year-old version of myself now we would not know each other. Every experience I have means much more now than it would have if I was in my early twenties. I have been so impacted by the people I have met, the professors I have had and the volunteer work I have been fortunate enough to be a part of.

This next semester is going to be a busy one. I will now be working full-time, in classes, planning a wedding and doing my volunteer work. It is a good thing we are getting our vacation out of the way now because there will be no down time for me for a few months.

Leave a Reply

