How to Die in Oregon and other titles

This weekend we painted at the new house and started moving our belongings over. Our official move date in next Monday but I will spend most of the week moving boxes.

Thursday night Todd and I watched Religulous. It is a documentary Bill Maher did in which he interviewed members of different religious organizations asking them why they believe in the absence of proof.  We liked it. For me it’s not about believing or not believing I just cannot get behind organized religion. It’s just a product I can’t buy no matter how they try to package and sell it.

I have been watching a lot of documentaries lately. I have had a little more time on my hands this summer since my course load is lighter than a normal semester and I have found that day time television is for the birds. I never knew this previously, given that I was always working or at school. Evening television isn’t anything to write home about either for that matter but it’s really of no consequence because we don’t watch a lot of that either.

Here is what I have been watching:

First Circle, which documents specific examples of the inner workings of the Foster Care system in selected parts of the nation. Although I found this documentary to be limited and highly subjective I still enjoyed it.

Lost Angels, this documentary follows different members of the Skid Row community as well as the Social Workers and volunteers that help with aid in the community. I really enjoyed this one. It’s easy to become attached to the individuals as they tell their stories. I think so many people get caught up in the stigma that is associated with the homeless that they forget that the homeless are people too. Citizens of this country just like the rest of us.

Though my favorite documentary of late is How to Die in Oregon. Awesome film about Euthanasia. I have been a supporter of legalizing Euthanasia for years. To me the issue is similar to that of abortion, I understand it’s not for everyone but medically speaking I think it’s always good to have options. You don’t like it? Then don’t do it. But who are you to prevent someone else from dying a peaceful death if that is their wish especially if they are faced with a very grim alternative. I cried through most of it but to me that is the sign of a good documentary, make me feel something. It’s hard not to be impacted by this one, especially if you are socially minded like myself. It was sad to watch what some of the people in this documentary had to endure but I was also angered that in some cases it could have been avoided had euthanasia been a legal option for the patient. You hear people talk about whether it is moral or ethical, I feel like hiding behind those words what is really being said is “this is against my religion”. The blurred line between religion and state drives me crazy. I believe in religious freedom but it is not fair that those religious beliefs should have so much influence on the political process. We give our animals and convicted felons who have death sentences a more humane means to an end than we do terminally ill patients just looking for options. All these patients want is to die with dignity. I can appreciate that, if I had my way I would want to go out on my terms too.

Leave a Reply

