A big step forward

Todd and I have had a critter problem lately. It seems we have had a few problems with the house we are renting lately. The critter issue is my primary concern, it makes me feel quite uneasy but there is also roof leaks, down branches and A/C stuff. Our landlord is getting a bit tired of it all I think, understandably. It is an older house though so this kind of thing is to be expected, well except for the critter in the attic, one never expects a critter to take up lodging in one’s own home.

Well this story begins last Thursday when the roof repair men came by for the second time to re-repair the leak in the bathroom. They came by 2 weeks prior but then after a good, hard rain we found that the leak was not fixed after all. We made our landlord aware of this at the same time that we made him aware of the critter that had been running around over head at all hours of the night. The roof people came first though. The gentleman informed me that he wanted to look in the attic to make sure he knew right where the leak was. I advised him of our critter problem hoping this would deter him as, truth be told, I didn’t really want the attic to be opened while there was still an animal co-inhabiting with us. This did not deter him at all, however. To fast forward, after the job was finished I realized the man left the attic wide open! I was completely rattled and had to leave the house. I did not return until the evening when my family came over for dinner. At that time Daddy closed the attic for me and he, myself and Krissy searched the house for any rogue critters, thankfully we found none. Daddy then did a perimeter search to try to determine where the animal would be gaining access to the house. He found the a grate on the bottom of the house out by the drive way that is always falling opened and decided that was probably the place. (this was confirmed by the critter man who came by this week).

That night I barely slept. I was nervous and unsettled by the whole ordeal. I woke the next morning exhausted and still upset by how everything was being handled. I was venting to Todd when he suggested I email the landlord. When I finished my email Todd called me into his computer room and showed me a house online that he liked. From there we made a call, went and looked at the house and then went to the bank to secure a loan. There are a few details that I am leaving out, like the fact that we had lunch and also stopped by UCF to discuss my admission, but for the most part everything did happen just like that. Todd found this house a few weeks ago and had mentioned it to me but it wasn’t until things started going awry at the house that he gave it serious thought. It’s funny how you can try to plan and plan but more often than not when things are meant to happen they just do without much planning at all. It’s a very nice house, Todd signed the contract on Monday and is now in the process of getting all the things done that need to be done before closing. We plan to close around the 14th of June and should be all moved in just in time for our two-year anniversary.

I know Todd is quite stressed out while he is running around trying to schedule inspections and secure this or that but at the end of it all I know this will all be worth it. This will be the house we start our life in together, what a very exciting thought.

Leave a Reply

