a Bucket List of sorts

Truth be told I am not completely sold on the idea. I mean I guess making a bucket list is one small way to try to keep yourself accountable for how your life turns out, so there’s that. At the end of the day though all of the walks to the lake, swinging on the swings with Todd, family dinners, late night conversations with friends and all the other simple wonderful everyday moments mean no less to me than any of the things I could put on a “life wish list”.. I woke up today with this rolling around in my head. Can you believe it? I mean, I swear, the things I think first thing in the morning. haha.
So I started thinking about through out the day.. What’s on my wish list? Well there are things I would like to do and then there are things that are kind of.. different.. You’ll see.

1. Create a “Family Quilt” made from the fabric scraps from our lives. So this would include a piece of the flannel shirt Grandpa always to wore, a peice of one of Madison’s dresses, a peice from one of my flowered shirts since I always seem to wear flowers, one of Joel’s old comfy t-shirts or maybe his Lilleth Fair shirt, Papa’s polo, One of Todd’s Illini shirts, something feminine of my Mother’s.. You get the idea I am sure. I put this one at the top of my list because it is something I have wanted to do for years and because when I had this thought this morning and began thinking of a list this was the very first thing I thought of.

Okay so, 2. See the Redwoods. I have always wanted to. I want to stand next to them and feel small. That kind of beauty helps remind one how insignificant we are in th world, the universe. It’s a good thing.

If I were to die I feel like there are only two things that are important I did in this life, good is one of the things. I want to know that each day I tried and I had good intentions and I didn’t just let them stay intentions, I acted on them as often as possible. The other thing is express love everyday. I don’t want anyone to ever wonder what they meant to me, I want to be crystal on that part of my life.

So,

3. Do Good

4. Give Love, be emotionally transparent as often as I can.

5. Marry Todd and have our children. I don’t have much to add to that one. I am not asking for anything elaborate, that’s not what I want. I just want him and our life, that will be enough. More than enough really.

6. Finish school and get hired to do my dream job.. This one, the second half at least, is more of a “wish list” item I suppose but everyone has at least one thing right?!

This is it I think. I mean, I look back over this list and I see my version of perfection. This is all I want I guess, anything more would just be a bonus. I realize it is a pretty humble list compared to some but this is it in all its lack of glory. *smirk*

I have read that if your dreams don’t scare you they are not big enough. I do agree. I think that is where 3, 4 and 6 come in for me though. I know I will never feel satisfied that things are good enough. I will always want to do more, give more, be more and that does scare me everyday. I accept that though, that is my drive.

Leave a Reply

