If you’re not growing together you’re growing apart.

Todd and I went to the Planetarium at school Friday as extra credit for my Astronomy class. It was neat. It reviewed the constellations that can currently be seen in the September night sky. My favorite was Cassiopeia, the upside queen with a vanity issue. I like her story, not to mention she is an easy asterism to locate because it is essentially just a “W” in the sky. In just a few minutes I am going to write an essay about the experience to finalize the extra credit.

Yesterday evening we went to my Aunt’s house for dinner and game night. I love that Todd is involved with my family. He and I were raised with close ties to our families and the traditions each family keeps is similar. His family does game nights and such as well. It was fun. We always play boys against girls in the group games and last night the girls stomped the boys at Catch Phrase. It was a shut out, they couldn’t win one! However they came out on top in Cranium. Meh. 🙂

Today I had lunch with a girlfriend. She is in a similar place in her life as I am. She is in the settling down stage. We were talking about friendships among other things and how they change over the years. I have been lucky that my closest girlfriends and I  have always been in about the same place in life as each other. Things start slowing down as you age, I see it. I don’t mind it because it is natural and it allows times for other things. The relationships will be there and remain strong if you have that common ground. Not just that you are both in serious relationships or having children etc but that your value system is similar. It’s true what they say, if you are not growing together you are growing apart. That’s just how things go I think. Otherwise your being held back. I think about the friendships I have had over the years that didn’t last versus the ones that did and I don’t have any regrets. The people I surround myself with lift me up rather than holding me down. The same goes in reverse. I am thankful for that.. For them. I am lucky to know these girls.

Leave a Reply

